top of page

Summer 2021: Dr. Reddy's Laboratories (DRL)

-Billeswar Ghosh



Hey!!! I am Billeswar Ghosh, a final year undergraduate student from the department of chemical engineering. I am from Burdwan, West Bengal. I have recently completed my summer internship at Dr. Reddy's Laboratories (DRL). Moreover, it was a physical internship (yes!! You heard it right, it was a physical internship). I was one of you who eagerly read the articles published in this blog and got motivated. I have tried to pen down my internship journey and hope it offers you some clarity and hope.

Selection Procedure

I might be one of those few people who want to explore core chemical engineering. Having said that, the number of core companies that appear for an internship might frighten you. Keeping aside FMCG, only Piramal came before DRL (which came around mid-September). So, I started looking for alternatives. I had a bit of interest in Machine Learning. But you have to clear the coding test. And with limited knowledge of CS101, I was not able to clear a single test. Following the suggestion of my friends, I started learning Data Structure & Algorithms. The semester being online, things were getting complicated to manage.

Meanwhile, DRL came. The selection procedure consisted of three rounds. An initial test was taken, checking your basic chemical engineering knowledge and few aptitude questions. For the first time, I saw my name on the internship portal (I was delighted!!). The next round was a GD; surprisingly, it was a core GD. And the final round was (technical + personal) interview. They asked about my previous internship project and a few questions about heat transfer, fluid mechanics, and some HR questions. The interview was much easier than the last two rounds. When the results were announced, the joy was unbounded.

About the Internship

The way the second wave turned around, we didn't expect a physical internship. But, DRL took the bold decision. That's when we felt that the company wants to provide us with a great internship experience. I have worked in the API section of IPDO (R&D unit of DRL), Hyderabad.

The first two days of our internship were digital induction which we attended from our guest house. We reached our office following a one-week quarantine and learned that the company was vaccinating its employees. And I didn't miss the opportunity to get SPUTNIK V's jab (Don't be jealous!! ).

In the meantime, we were allotted our projects and mentor. The objective of my project was to optimize different unit operations involved in the continuous manufacturing of an Active Pharmaceutical Ingredient (API) and simultaneously improve the yield of the process. I had the opportunity to work in the laboratory under the guidance of two of our IITB alumni (2018 & '19 pass out) and one from IITD. Could the intern be any more fun than working with our seniors!!! In the first month of the internship, I focused on understanding the project and the working principle of the machinery involved in the process. I learned how to deal with this machinery, set up a reaction, and most importantly, the safety norms. In the latter half, I was allowed to perform experiments. That is the best part- getting in-hand experience of a real-life project.


Work Culture @ DRL






DRL Office premises







The R&D office of DRL is nothing short of a college campus. No specific dressing codes. They have a 5-day working policy here. The general working hour was from 8.30 a.m. - 6 p.m. Considering the COVID norms, two more working shifts were allowed – 'A' shift ( 6 a.m. -2

p.m.) and 'B' shift ( 2 p.m. – 10 p.m.). The best thing about DRL is that it allows its employees to take full ownership of their projects and gives them the freedom to work in their own space.

Of all the experiences I have had, I will never forget those with my three project guides. They always treated me as a part of the DRL family rather than a 2-month intern. They used to introduce me to new people. All the employees are so friendly and enthusiastic to help you out there. My mentor himself knows some of our professors, for the likes of Prof. Jyoti Seth, Prof. Sanjay Mahajani. He also came as a guest lecturer in the course CL 323. There was an IITB connection all around.



Accommodation

We resided at the company's guest house in Kondapur. The rooms provided were way beyond our expectations and equipped with all the modern-day facilities. The rooms were double sharing. A total of 10 interns (6 IITB + 4 IITK) stayed here. The hostel environment wasn't missed at all. Breakfast, lunch, snacks, and dinner were provided by the hotel. We used to take our lunch in the office (no short of our mess food). Our working location was far from the guest house. But, the company arranged a transport facility for us.


Hyderabad City

Getting the offer letter, I was more excited about reuniting with my friends. Finally, we don't have to sit in front of the laptop all day. For the first three weeks, there was partial lockdown. We decided not to miss a single opportunity and made plans beforehand for the respective weekends. Once the lockdown was lifted entirely, we went for road trips. First, we covered Birla Museum, Birla Temple, Hussain Sagar. Next week we went to Ananthgiri Hill station. There was a shopping mall- a walk a distance away from our guesthouse. We became regular customers.


I love to explore different foods. And Hyderabad is famous for non-veg items. I indulged in some of the lip-smacking chicken and mutton dishes. People are warm and kind. Overall, the city of Hyderabad is just incredible.



Ending Notes

This is the best summer I have ever had. I can't think of a better internship for someone who wants to explore the chemical industry. Now, I have more reason to pursue my interest in core ChE. Reflecting on the memories I made, it was a very fulfilling experience improving my skill set, understanding varied cultures, and making new friends.

Believe in the process rather than the outcome. Do not panic if you don't get shortlisted. Eventually, you all will find a way through it. Wish you all the very best, guys. Feel free to reach me if you have any queries. I will be glad to help you out.

bottom of page