top of page

Summer 2021: Deutsche Bank

-Samarth Doshi


Hello everyone!


“Suno sabka, karo khudka!!” Talk to as many seniors as possible because everyone will have something to add and then finally decide your plan of action. So, here I am sharing my internship experience with you. My name is Samarth Doshi, and I am a 4th-year undergraduate student in the Chemical Engineering department. Having zero knowledge in finance, I never imagined that I would get an opportunity in Deutsche Bank (DB). So, you can consider me as an example if you are interested in the field of finance but do not have any prior exposure.


The first and the most challenging task is to build a strong resume. After completing the 2nd year, most of us won’t have enough points to fill an entire page but do not be too concerned about this. Start working on your resume as soon as possible, and do not forget to get it reviewed by your seniors.


Regarding the selection procedure of DB, there is no aptitude/coding test conducted, and instead, they take a psychometric test. This is followed by three rounds of interviews. In my case, they grilled me on my resume in the 1st round and asked a guesstimate question at the end. As I had mentioned in my resume that I am the Institute Board Games Secretary, the question was to guess the number of different positions possible in a game of chess after the first five moves of both the players. This was followed by an HR round and was pretty chill. In the 3rd round, they grilled me again on my resume and asked a probability question as well.


HR and resume-based questions will be asked by every company irrespective of the sector you are targeting. So, you can prepare a doc for this and start writing your answers there. This doc will help you not just for your internship but for placements as well. Also, never mention in your interview that you want to pursue higher studies just after your graduation.


Working at Deutsche Bank, I have been able to see firsthand how an investment bank works. I was in the Credit Trading Desk and was supposed to work on trading strategies based on CDS indices. Since people at my desk traded in the European markets, we usually started working at around 1:00 pm (ideal for us, right?). The work allotted to me was pretty interesting, and I had an amazing experience throughout the internship.


“You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great!”

Start working on your weaknesses, and don’t worry too much about the results. Feel free to reach out to me if you need any help. All the best guys!

bottom of page