top of page

Kshitij Sovanee | BCG

Heya everyone, I'm Kshitij Sovanee, a to-be fourthie in Chemical. You'll soon read about how my intern at BCG was a conventional path that many follow, so let's sort out the unconventional stuff here. I have been playing table tennis for the past 12 years of my life, and am an avid reader. Oh wait, you’re right, the second half of the former sentence is where the conventional stuff begins xD.


My experience with BCG:

Going to BCG as an intern was going to be a novel experience, because we were to be the first batch of undergrads to get the opportunity! And that's exactly how it turned out to be as the intern gave me a whole new perspective on a variety of things. I was based out of the Delhi office, but my case team used to work out of the client office. Although it was slightly far from where I stayed, I enjoyed sitting in the office mingling with the day-to-day work culture of the clients'.


It was a seven-week intern, out of which the first two days were in Bombay for the orientation (where they conducted a bunch of sessions for us to get acquainted with tools and resources) and the remnant weeks were at the home office. I was allotted a 'cover'- a senior associate with whom I to spoke regularly and who vetted my work before I showed it to the partner. She was super helpful in every aspect- right from making a work plan to teaching me some advanced Excel :) Working at a consulting company will give you a major viewpoint change on PowerPoint and Excel, as they use very different themes and titling cultures. It takes time to get comfortable with them, but you just have to spend some time before you're good to go!

I really like how the company does not differentiate between interns and full-time employees. We are required to take ownership of whatever we've done (good/bad) and suggest next steps accordingly. Unfortunately, I'm not allowed to share anything about my client/case, but it definitely was very interesting with a lot of scope for learning!

Finally, I got to go on a 3D2N case team outing to Srinagar just after my midterm review :) (unfortunately this will depend on a case-to-case basis so it’s not a promised deliverable!)

I believe that this internship really made me more confident and my analytical skills robust. The experience will stay with me lifelong, and has changed me for the better. Although there will be no direct application of the things I did in the final year, I see myself well equipped to tackle it with the arsenal of qualities that the intern has provided me with:)


bottom of page